Falling in #Love with your #Characters #amwriting @jacqbiggar

Standard

sisterhood of suspense

17841780_667887290084508_1151115451_n

Readers often ask where do writers come up with ideas for their characters? In my case, the birth of a hero comes from a variety of sources. News reports, television programs, books I’ve read; all are great resources.

cropped-cup-of-coffee-1280537_1280.jpg

But my favorite characters grow organically from stories I’ve already written. For my new release, Missing: The Lady Said No, the idea for my hero, Augustus Grant, came to me from a previous book where the main character was a mystery writer suffering from writer’s block.

Gus is the character my hero, Joel Carpenter, (in the holiday romance novelSilver Bells) was writing about. I fell in love with the bumbling detective and decided then and there he needed his own story!

16466420_10211613245151079_1174612553_o

Gus is smart, irreverent, a little bit clumsy (okay, a LOT clumsy!) and still in love with the girl he let get away.

Rebecca Hayes.

Here’s a short…

View original post 363 more words

Leave a Reply

