The Path to Fix My Writing Mojo

Standard

Get Your Writing Mojo Back!

sisterhood of suspense

Summer break is my writing sweet spot. Two months where I can focus on crafting a new novel or polishing an existing project.

At the start of summer 2016, I set several goals to conquer by August 1. One was to write the last half of my novel, Shutter, and another was to complete revisions on another manuscript, A Twisted Fate. I used the same strategy to prepare for my writing sessions, including music, coffee, and snacks. I jotted down major plot points for each scene and established a specific word count goal for the day.

But nothing happened.

With each passing writing session, each passing day without making progress, I became more frustrated. I started overthinking the creative process and tried forcing words and scenes to appear, only to find this strategy had the opposite effect.

By July it became obvious, I needed a different approach. So, I unplugged…

View original post 410 more words

Leave a Reply

