Spotlight on Claire Gem

Standard

New Gothic author and Sister of Suspense, Claire Gem discusses her passion for writing and her love of cemeteries.

Joanne Guidoccio

I’m thrilled to feature Claire Gem’s writing journey and her books: Phantom Traces and Hearts Uncloched.

Here’s Claire!

clairegemWriting isn’t a hobby for me, nor merely a career dream. Crafting stories, and all that go with them, is a passion. And the reason why I don’t need to be on an anti-depressant medication.

When I was in the seventh grade, my English teacher, Nancy Prather, gave the class a creative writing assignment. I don’t even remember now what I wrote about. But I can tell you this: when Ms. Prather handed out the papers and I discovered I’d scored an A+, a tiny spark ignited in my chest. When she stopped me on my way out of class to say, “You have real talent. I hope you’ll pursue your writing,” that spark burst into flames.

Flames that simmered low and slow throughout the next forty years. There simply wasn’t…

View original post 796 more words

Leave a Reply

